More than a century of history

It all started more than a century ago, in 1880 to be specific, when the Banking Central Company (Société Centrale de Banque) was created, a French institution settling in Tunisia under the name “Credit Foncier d’Algérie et de Tunisie” (CFAT).

CFAT’s headquarters were first based in Algiers and the launch of a subsidiary in Tunis was part of a large movement for the installation of metropolitan credit institutions with the definite goal of progressively removing non-French banks.

After independence, the Tunisian banking system represented an extension of the French banking structure, and was mainly tasked with funding the colonization of the country.

Unlike other banks at that time, CFAT was characterized by its mixed status with no explicit specialization, and based on the structure of its commitments, its credits mainly funded agricultural campaigns in the short term and the acquisition of real estate properties or construction and development works in the long term.

Soon after independence, public powers mobilized to address obvious deficiencies of the Tunisian banking system and to undertake a major reshuffle. As it was primarily made of private banks established according to the French Law, the banking system had to progressively be nationalized, mainly by creating the Tunisian Central Bank in 1958, uncoupling the Tunisian Dinar with regard to the French Franc and the creation of public banks. That was the time of Tunisification and concentration. Of the thirteen banks operating at that time, only six were not modified. They included CFAT which kept its French statute and remained under the control of Algiers.

1880

Creation of the banking central campany

1967

Birth of the CRÉDIT FONCIER ET COMMERCIAL DE TUNISIE CFCT

1971

BGI SA takes control of the CFCT

1993

CFCT introduction in the stock exchange market

Birth of CFCT

On June 30, 1966, the Extraordinary General Assembly of the "Crédit Foncier d’Algérie et de Tunisie" (CFAT) decided in a resolution “the transfer to a company ruled by Tunisian Law still to be created of the goods and rights, both in terms of assets and liabilities, forming CFAT’s banking operation in Tunisia.”

As a consequence, 1967 witnessed the transformation of this subsidiary into a real bank and the birth of the "Crédit Foncier et Commercial de Tunisie" (CFCT) was formally announced on June 6, 1967 with a business capital of 325,000 dinars and a formal address at 13, France Avenue in Tunis. While the Board of Directors was chaired by a Mr. Ismail Zouiten, a Tunisian national, the bank kept fully French shareholders.

1971 represents a major turning point in the bank’s history and shareholding. In fact, a young financial institution, the General Investment Bank or “BGI SA” created in 1970 by Brahim, Bechir and Rachid Ben Yedder, later called PGI Holding, takes full control of CFCT. A new board of directors was then elected and appoints Rachid Ben Yedder, then PGI Chair, in his capacity as CFCT’s CEO and Chair of the Board. The bank has since that time progressively opened up to new shareholders including the country’s most reliable and renowned businessmen, and new board members were then selected from this group. They all shared their trust in the project’s entrepreneurs and their confidence in their endeavor.

Fulfilled challenge

Amen Bank

Was the acquisition of CFCT a well thought-of risk? May be. However, this risk was taken by visionary entrepreneurs equipped with tremendous faith in Men’s intangible and sacrosanct right for entrepreneurship and success. This has been a major economic principle leading to the wealth and power of the World’s greatest nations.

As competition intensified in the 1980s, CFCT strived to keep and develop its market shares. It further built on its original and innovative approach to reinforce its position as a “universal bank” by further expanding and enhancing its customers’ loyalty and offering highly competitive products and services. The bank’s efforts led to the introduction of CFCT shares in the stock exchange by the end of 1993.

1995

CFCT becomes AMEN BANK

2016

New visual identity

CFCT to AMEN BANK

Far from being fortuitous, the change of CFCT’s name into AMEN BANK at the beginning of 1995, crowned a wise and well considered process. The Bank’s Board of Directors came to the belief then to the conviction over the years that CFCT, as an abbreviation, was not candid, neither in terms of dissonance nor in terms of concordance. On the one hand, they stumbled over translation and Arabization difficulties, on the other, the name stressed only ‘real estate and commercial’ and was therefore misleading by narrowing attributions that are in fact by far much broader.

Correcting this trajectory by putting an end to disharmony and alterity between the name and purpose of the bank was appealing, conceivable and relevant. The question was to find a good alternative, a change name. It happened that in 1977, CFCT had the brilliant idea to launch a new saving product combined with an insurance contract that proved to be very successful: the product was called “El Amen”, an Arabic term with several meanings that can be translated in safety and confidence. In customers’ minds, confusion between the bank and this wished-for product took root. In a way, Bank El Amen’s generic name was somehow created by the customers. Although immediately accepted, the bank’s managers submitted the name change to a rigorous consultative process (opinion poll, communication campaign, linguistic analysis), ending with a referenda procedure where the project was put to the vote at the annual assembly of the bank’s staff members. As the “YES” prevailed over the votes, the Board decided to select the name AMEN BANK and submitted it to the shareholders’ general assembly, which formally adopted it.

Today, the bank is more than 100 years old, and went in 1971 through a major transition. AMEN BANK has built on well enrooted banking traditions and professional practices. It is this historical entitlement that provides AMEN BANK with the privilege of seniority and distinction, a demarcating line in the country’s banking landscape.

Plus d'un siécle d'histoire

C’est   en amont de notre siècle qu’il faut remonter, plus précisément à 1880, année de création de la Société Centrale de Banque, un établissement français qui s’est installé en Tunisie sous la dénomination de "Crédit Foncier d’Algérie et de Tunisie" (CFAT).

Le siège du CFAT était à Alger et l’implantation d’une succursale à Tunis entrait dans le cadre d’un vaste mouvement d’installation d’établissements de crédit métropolitains avec la volonté bien arrêtée d’éliminer progressivement les banques non françaises.

Avant l’indépendance, le système bancaire tunisien était le prolongement de l’appareil bancaire français. Il avait pour mission de base, le financement de la colonisation du pays.

A la différence des autres banques de l’époque, le CFAT se distinguait par un statut d’établissement mixte sans spécialisation déclarée. Au vu de la structure de ses engagements, les crédits finançaient, pour le court terme, les campagnes agricoles et, pour le moyen et long terme, le foncier, la construction et autres aménagements.

Au lendemain de l’indépendance, les pouvoirs publics se sont mobilisés pour pallier l’inefficience évidente du système bancaire et en assurer la refonte totale. Constitué pour l’essentiel de banques privées de droit français échappant au contrôle des autorités locales, le système bancaire devait être progressivement tunisifié par la mise en place notamment de la Banque Centrale en 1958, du décrochage du dinar par rapport au franc français et de la création des banques publiques. Ce fut l’époque de la tunisification et de la concentration. Des treize banques en exercice à cette époque , six seulement n’ont pas subi de modifications. C’est le cas du CFAT qui a gardé son statut juridique français et qui dépendait encore du siège d’Alger.

1880

création de la Société Centrale de Banque

1967

naissance du "Crédit Foncier et Commercial de Tunisie" CFCT

1971

BGI SA prend le contrôle du CFCT

1993

introduction en Bourse CFCT

Naissance du CFCT

Le 30 Juin 1966, l’Assemblée Générale Extraordinaire du "Crédit Foncier d’Algérie et de Tunisie" (CFAT) décide, dans l’une de ses résolutions, "l’apport à une société de droit tunisien qui reste à créer, des biens et des droits tant actifs que passifs composant l’exploitation bancaire de la succursale CFAT en Tunisie."

En foi de quoi, l’année 1967 allait témoigner de la transformation de la dite succursale en une véritable banque. Et la naissance du "Crédit Foncier et Commercial de Tunisie" (le CFCT) d’avoir officiellement lieu le 6 Juin 1967 avec un capital de 325 000 Dinars, et un siège au 13 Avenue de France à Tunis. Bien que le conseil d’administration fut présidé par un tunisien, Mr Ismail Zouiten, la banque restait la propriété d’un actionnariat totalement français.

L’année 1971 marque un tournant décisif dans l’histoire et l’action de la banque. Cette année là, une jeune institution financière, la Banque Générale d’Investissement "BGI SA" créée en 1970 par MM. Brahim, Béchir et Rachid Ben Yedder, et devenue ultérieurement la "PGI holding", prend le contrôle du CFCT. Un nouveau Conseil d’Administration est élu qui nomme le Président de la PGI, Mr Rachid Ben Yedder, Président Directeur Général du CFCT. Dés lors la banque s’ouvre progressivement sur de nouveaux actionnaires qui comptent parmi les hommes d’affaires les plus crédibles et les plus respectables du pays et parmi lesquels de nouveaux administrateurs sont choisis. Ils ont en commun une confiance en les promoteurs du projet et une foi en le succès de celui-ci.

Un pari assumé

Amen Bank

L’acquisition du CFCT était-elle un risque calculé? Peut-être. Mais elle l’a été par des promoteurs visionnaires animés d’une immense foi en le caractère intangible et inviolable de la liberté de l’homme à entreprendre et à voir ses efforts récompensés. C’est sur ce credo économique que les plus grandes nations du monde ont bâti leur richesse et leur puissance.

Avec l’intensification de la concurrence au cours des années 80, le CFCT a tout mis en oeuvre pour conserver et développer ses parts de marché et, fidèle à sa démarche novatrice originelle, pour consolider sa position de " banque universelle ", moyennant l’expansion et la fidélisation de la clientèle ainsi que la mise en service de produits et de prestations extrêmement compétitives. Ses succès aboutissent à l’introduction en Bourse, fin 1993, de l’action CFCT.

1995

CFCT devient Amen Bank

2016

Nouvelle identité visuelle

Du CFCT à AMEN BANK

Loin d’être fortuit, le changement d’appellation du CFCT, devenu Amen Bank au début de 1995, est l’aboutissement d’une démarche raisonnée et étudiée. Au fil des ans, le Conseil d’Administration de la Banque a été confirmé dans l’impression d’abord, dans la certitude ensuite, que l’abréviation CFCT n’était franche ni de dissonance, ni de discordance. D’un côté, on butait sur les difficultés de traduction et d’arabisation; de l’autre, l’intitulé, en soulignant uniquement le "foncier et le commercial" induit en erreur en limitant des attributions qui sont loin de l’être dans la pratique.

Corriger la trajectoire en mettant un terme à la disharmonie et à l’altérité entre le nom et l’objet de la Banque était tentant, concevable et pertinent. Encore fallait-il trouver une bonne alternative, un nom de rechange. Le challenge n’était pas de tout repos. Il se trouvait qu’en 1977, le CFCT eut l’heureuse idée de lancer un nouveau produit d’épargne combinée à une assurance qui devait rencontrer un succès important : ce produit fut baptisé "El Amen", mot arabe à significations multiples qu’on pourrait traduire par sécurité et confiance. Dans l’esprit de la clientèle, la confusion entre la banque et le nouveau produit tant convoité aura vite fait de s’opérer. En sorte que le nom générique Bank El Amen aura été en quelque sorte créé par les clients eux-mêmes en première instance. Tout en acceptant l’augure, les dirigeants de la banque n’ont pas moins soumis le changement de nom à un processus consultatif rigoureux (sondage d’opinion, campagne de communication, diagnostic linguistique), complété par une procédure reférendaire par laquelle le projet est mis aux voix lors d’une assemblée annuelle du personnel de la banque et, au vu de la prépondérance du "oui", le Conseil retient la dénomination AMEN BANK et la soumet à l’Assemblée Générale des actionnaires qui l’adopte officiellement.

Agée aujourd’hui de plus d’un siècle mais arrivée, en 1971, à la véritable transition, AMEN BANK a pu capitaliser sur une tradition et un professionnalisme bancaires bien ancrés dans le temps. C’est d’ailleurs cette rente de l’histoire qui confère à Amen Bank le privilège de l’aînesse et la distinction de l’âge: un signe de démarcation, s’il en est, dans le paysage bancaire du pays.